Meeting Minutes

Board Executive Committee

Thursday, November 2, 2023 at 9:00 a.m.

Tompkins Boardman Administration Center

Conference Room C (2nd Floor)

412 Webster Street, Traverse City, MI 49686



Approved on November 30, 2023

PRESENT: Scott Newman-Bale (Chair), Holly Bird (alternate), Josey Ballenger, Dr. John Van Wagoner, Ginger Smith,

and Coni Taylor

ABSENT: Flournoy Humphreys

1. CALL TO ORDER

Trustee Newman-Bale called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

Trustee Newman-Bale offered time for public comment and no request was made.

3. PROCEDURAL ITEMS

a. Draft Committee Meeting Minutes from September 28, 2023

The Committee was asked if they had any changes to the draft minutes from the September 28, 2023 meeting. No changes to the minutes were recommended. Minutes are to remain as posted.

b. Professional Development

Superintendent, Dr. VanWagoner, provided an overview of the The School Superintendent Association, AASA, annual conference he would like approval to attend in San Diego, CA in February 2024, per his contract. The Committee agreed to move this item to the Consent Calendar on the November 13 Board meeting for review.

c. Review of November 13, 2023 Board of Education Meeting Agenda

The Committee reviewed the November 13 Board Meeting agenda with administration.

4. INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

a. Human Resources

Trustee Newman-Bale deferred to the Associate Superintendent of Labor Relations and Legal Services, Coni Taylor, to provide an update on the following items:

i. Staffing Update

Human resources is working to fill shortages in food service and many support staff positions. There are also various teaching positions posted. The next open interviews will be Thursday, November 9 from 8:00 a.m. until 10:00 a.m.

ii. Professional Development Update

In response to feedback from hourly staff, the district is now offering professional development opportunities focused on technology and de-escalation.

iii. Veterans Day Recognition

Ms. Taylor and Associate Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, Kristin Perkowski, will be presenting certificates of recognition next week to veterans employed by the district.

b. Communications Update

Trustee Newman-Bale deferred to the Executive Director of Marketing and Communications, Ginger Smith, to provide an update on the following items:

i. Groundbreaking Events

The high school STEM groundbreaking ceremonies were Friday, October 27. Ms. Smith thanked the students, staff, and Board of Education Trustees for participating in the event, as well as Miller Davis, who assisted with supplies and set up.

ii. Podcasts

EDTechLoop, which was started six (6) years ago but was halted for a while due to COVID, is back. The three (3) focus areas for EDTechLoop this year are Artificial Intelligence (AI), digital citizenship and tech tools. The Podcast is geared to educators and parents nationwide and can be found on all media platforms for download or streaming.

c. Naming Rights

Dr. VanWagoner shared that he received a request to name the newly renovated Central High School tennis courts after former coach, and TCAPS supporter, Larry Nykirk. The Committee reviewed Board Policies 7115 and 7250 in relation to this request. The Committee agreed to have further dialog about the policies under Discussion at the November 13 Board Meeting.

d. Safer Kids, Safer Schools

Safer Kids, Safer Schools co-founders, Jay Berger and Kathleen Guy, Ph.D., presented a final report to the Committee with their recommendations on school safety and support for mental health. This presentation is also on the November 13 Board meeting agenda.

5. OTHER ITEMS

No other items were discussed.

6. ADJOURNMENT

This meeting adjourned at 10:25 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted By,

Stacey Hozak

Stacey Hozak Committee Recording Secretary

Next Board Executive Committee Meeting

Thursday, November 30, 2023, at 9:00 a.m.
Tompkins Boardman Administration Building (Conference Room C)
412 Webster Street, Traverse City, MI 49686

Executive Committee Members:
Scott Newman-Bale (Chair), Flournoy Humphreys, Rotating Board Member,
Dr. John VanWagoner, Coni Taylor, and Ginger Smith