Meeting Minutes (DRAFT) Board Curriculum Committee Monday, February 27, 2023 at 4:00 p.m. Tompkins Boardman Administration Center Conference Room C (2nd Floor) 412 Webster Street, Traverse City, MI 49686



To be approved on April 3, 2023

PRESENT: Josey Ballenger, Holly T. Bird, Beth Pack, Dr. John VanWagoner, Kristin Perkowski,

Heidi Maltby-Skodack, Kirsten Jones-Morgan, and Tiffany Pomaville

ABSENT: Erica Moon Mohr and Flournoy Humphreys

1. CALL TO ORDER AT 4:00 PM

Trustee Pack called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

Trustee Pack offered time for public comment and no request was made.

3. PROCEDURAL ITEMS

a. Draft Committee Meeting Minutes from January 30, 2023

The Committee discussed the Meeting Minutes from January 30, 2023. The January 30 Committee Meeting Minutes are to be posted with one correction as discussed.

b. Professional Development

Superintendent, Dr. VanWagoner, provided an overview of the upcoming professional development requested by Administration. The Committee supported moving these professional development opportunities to the Consent Calendar at the March 13, 2023, Board of Education Regular Meeting.

- i. League of Innovative Schools Spring 2023 Convening
- ii. University of Wisconsin-Madison's MSAN Institute

Trustee Bird arrived at the meeting at 4:07 p.m.

c. TCAPS District Course Catalog Updates

Heidi Maltby-Skodack, Executive Director of School Improvement and Innovative Programs, presented updates to the 2022-2023 TCAPS Course Catalog. The Board Curriculum Committee supported moving the 2022-2023 TCAPS Course Catalog, with updates, to the Consent Calendar at the March 13, 2023, Board of Education Regular Meeting.

4. INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

a. Strategic Plan Updates

Heidi Maltby-Skodack, Executive Director of School Improvement and Innovative Programs, presented updates on the Strategic Plan. Heidi provided an overview of the Portrait of a Graduate. The Portrait of a Graduate has nine learning competency targets. These learning competency targets are Problem Solver, Strong Character, Resilient; Collaborator/Team Player, Critical Thinker/Creative Problem Solver, Lifelong Learner/Continuous Learner, Ethical & Global Citizen; Effective Communicator, and Adaptable. Committee members discussed with administration these competency targets. Administration will bring the Portrait of a Graduate for recommendation to the next Board Curriculum Committee meeting, and recommend adoption at the April Board of Education meeting.

b. Curriculum Purchase Timelines

Heidi Maltby-Skodack, Executive Director of School Improvement and Innovative Programs, reviewed the curriculum purchase timelines and provided the Committee with a curriculum adoption tracker map. Heidi also discussed the curriculum adoption process with the Committee.

c. Instructional Coaching Update

Kirsten Jones-Morgan, Executive Director of Student Achievement, updated the Committee on Instructional Coaching. The District has 13 full-time equivalents (FTEs) for Instructional Coaches in Kindergarten through 8th grade. Instructional Coaches have provided training in the following areas: Restorative Practices, Essentials in Literacy, Science of Reading, Explicit Instruction, Cognitive Coaching, and No More Random Acts of Coaching. Kirsten provided the Committee with teacher and administrator feedback on Instructional Coaching.

d. Celebrations & Successes

Kristin Perkowski, Associate Superintendent of Curriculum & Instruction, presented Celebrations & Successes around the District. Committee members can stay up-to-date on what's happening by visiting the TCAPS website or following TCAPS on all social media.

5. OTHER ITEMS

No other items were discussed by the Committee.

6. ADJOURNMENT

This meeting adjourned at 5:16 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted By,

Megan Feiss

Megan Feiss Board Recording Secretary

Next Board Curriculum Committee Meeting

Monday, April 3, 2023 at 4:00 p.m.

Tompkins Boardman Administration Building (Conference Room C)
412 Webster Street, Traverse City, MI 49686

Curriculum Committee Members: Erica Moon Mohr (Chair), Flournoy Humphreys, Beth Pack, Dr. John VanWagoner, Kristin Perkowski, Heidi Maltby-Skodack, Kirsten Jones Morgan, and Tiffany Pomaville